Announcing The John W. Campbell Literary Prize!

Share this post

This post is brought to you by my new release epic space crusading novel, Justified. Available on Amazon now! Buy here! 

Greetings fellow true believers!

Over the last month, there’s been a concerted effort by identity-politics zealots in science fiction publishing to erase science fiction history in regards to the contribution of one of the most well-known editors of all time, John W. Campbell, whose work with Astounding Magazine shaped the field of science fiction as we know it today. Campbellian-style fiction became the standard with greats like Arthur C. Clarke, Robert Heinlein, and Isaac Asimov, and the legacy continues to this day.

We’ve been very busy in the Happy Frogs organization this year, especially within the board of trustees, and our annual Ribbit Awards were pushed back several months because of those delays. The awards, however, are returning for their second annual showing, and we are pleased to announce we will be permanently renaming them The John W. Campbell Literary Prize.

The prize is to represent excellence in science fiction and fantasy, and related speculative fields.

Here are this year’s esteemed nominees:

Best Short Story
“The Temple of Baktaar” – Jason Restrick (StoryHack)
“Kakerlacs” – Alexandru Constantin (StoryHack)
The Law of the Wolves – Schuyler Hernstrom (Self Published)
“Crying In The Salt House” – B. Morris Allen (Cirsova)
“The Faerie Pool” – Edward McDermott (Cirsova)

Best Sci-Fi Novel
Dawn Of The Iron Dragon – Robert Kroese
Combat Frame X-Seed – Brian Niemeier
A Star Wheeled Sky – Brad Torgersen
Superluminary: The Lords of Creation – John C. Wright
Star Wars: Thrawn: Alliances – Timothy Zahn

Best Fantasy Novel
Sidequest in Realms Ungoogled – Frank Fleming
Jake And The Dynamo – D.G. Davidson
Rogues of Merth: The Adventures of Dareon and Blue – Robert Zoltan
Amber Eyes – S.D. Grimm
Origins – Lindsay Buroker

Best YA Novel
Pirates of the Electromagnetic Waves – Fenton Wood
Mark of the Raven – Morgan Busse
Crosscurrent – Catherine Jones Payne
Story Peddler – Lindsay Franklin
Fawkes – Nadine Brandes

Best New Author
Paul Platt
Adam Lane Smith
Nathan Dabney
Fenton Wood
Avily Jerome

Best Comic Book Or Graphic Novel
Alt-Hero #2 – Vox Day, Richard Bonk
Grass Kings Volume 1 – Matt Kindt, Tyler Jenkins
Rebel Dead Revenge – Gary Kwapisz
Robyn Hood: The Curse – Chuck Dixon, Julius Abrera
Trump’s Space Force – Timothy Lim, Brett R. Smith, Mark Pellegrini, Chuck Dixon

Best Video Game
Underworld Ascendant
Star Control: Origins
Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Best Film
Death Wish
Spider-Man: Into The Spiderverse
A Quiet Place

Best Video Series
EmpLemon – YouTube Geographic
Ross Game Dungeon
The Orville
GusToxward – The Trainwreck Awards

Best Sci-Fi Or Fantasy Artist
Ethan Van Sciver
Dave Dorman
Kirk DouPonce
David and Liz Lillie

Best Geek Journalism
Ian Miles Cheong
William Usher (One Angry Gamer)
Nick Monroe
Liana Kerzner
Liz Finnegan

Best Podcast/Stream
Geek Gab With Daddy Warpig
Nick Rekeita
Metro City Boys
Literary Wonder & Adventure Show
Writestream – David V. Stewart

The Lifetime Achievement Trophy
Sarah A. Hoyt
Larry Correia
Mark Kern
Larry Niven
David Weber

Congratulations to all!

We are hard at work voting within the Happy Frogs organization and should have our winners within the next couple of weeks. Stay tuned for a date announcement. Congratulations to ALL the nominees — by nature, a Happy Frog is a WINNER, and you are all winning by being chosen as a finalist for the 2nd most prestigious awards in science fiction and fantasy.

If you appreciate the hard work I do for the genre, check out my new book: Justified: The Saga Of The Nano-Templar. It features a strong male lead, is pro-Christianity, and exemplifies the virtues of honor and loyalty in this space-crusading epic. You’ll love it.

Buy Justified here.

Share this post

2 thoughts on “Announcing The John W. Campbell Literary Prize!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *